The betting operations tax, effective from 1 July 2017, is a consumption tax of 15% on the Net State Wagering Revenue (NWR) of betting companies offering services to South Australia.

All bets placed in South Australia with Australian-based betting companies will be liable for the tax.

The betting operations tax will apply to bets on horse, harness and greyhound racing, and bets on sports such as AFL, cricket and soccer. It also applies to other bets, such as those on the winner of the federal election or the Academy Awards.

A tax-free threshold of $150,000 Net Wagering State Revenue per year applies. Betting companies who expect their Net State Wagering Revenue to exceed $150,000 for the financial year must register on RevenueSA Online.

Further information is available in the Guide to Betting Operations Tax.

Contact us