SOUTH AUSTRALIA



RevenueSA

First Home Owner Grant

Circular No. 206

FIRST HOME OWNER GRANT (NEW ZEALAND CITIZENS) AMENDMENT ACT 2000

The First Home Owner Grant (New Zealand Citizens) Amendment Act 2000 was assented to on 9 November 2000, and operates from 1 July 2000.

Pursuant to the *First Home Owner Grant Act 2000*, only persons who are Australian citizens pursuant to the *Australian Citizenship Act 1948* (Cwth) or Permanent Residents pursuant to the *Migration Act 1958* (Cwth) are entitled to receive the First Home Owner Grant ("FHOG").

The amending Act ensures that New Zealand citizens permanently residing in Australia, who hold Special Category Visas, are eligible for the FHOG on the purchase of their first home, providing all other FHOG criteria are met.

Further information regarding the FHOG may be found in Circular No. 200.

FURTHER INFORMATION

ADELAIDE SA 5000

Location Postal

RevenueSA Commissioner of State Taxation
Taxpayer Services RevenueSA
State Administration Centre GPO Box 1353
200 Victoria Square East ADELAIDE SA 5001

Telephone Facsimile

(08) 8226 3750 (08) 8226 3734

Website E-mail

http://www.treasury.sa.gov.au/revenuesa revenuesa@saugov.sa.gov.au